RSS

You can please some people some of the time…

23 Feb

… but you can’t please all the people all of the time. Being an admin of a large facebook group can be challenging at times. As the creator and head admin of the Lenormand Cards Study Group, I find myself in a constant state of trying to find a balance that will please everyone. I’ve come to realize that it’s a losing battle most of the time. lol SOMEONE will always be unhappy with your decision.

When I started the group, it was under the assumption that only a few people would join. Lenormand was a “new” cartomancy system that I wanted to study, and a group setting seemed to be a good idea in regards to keeping it all in one place. Little did I know that a HUGE wave of interest was about to hit. And, as it turned out, I had started the only English speaking group on facebook. Not even a week after I created the group, the join requests started rolling in at an unbelievable pace.

That was almost a year ago, and now the group has 875 members at the time of this posting. Needless to say, trouble started brewing between the strict traditionalists and the free-form intuitive type readers. It’s still a struggle that pops up on a regular basis. Some of the more stalwart traditionalists say that mixing these two camps will never work. Both sides feel victimized and persecuted for their individual beliefs on how the Lenormand is read. And when disagreements break out, it’s the admins they look to for “police” support.

I like to think we are beyond the days where segregation exists in a learning environment. Surely we can all get along! But what bothers me the most is the ones who complain that there is not enough studying going on in the study group, are the ones that hardly ever participate in the posts that ARE about study and practice. Yes, there are quite a few artists that post about their new deck coming out. But I don’t feel that’s the backbone of the group. I think the ones complaining about the so-called spam are simply honing in on those posts and making them prevalent in their own minds. How hard is it to simply scroll past that post, find a practice thread and concentrate your attention there?

Luckily, my love for this elegant and simple form of card reading outweighs the drama that’s currently surrounding it. Like I said previously, it’s a “new” thing. And like most new things, it needs time to mature and settle in until everyone can be comfortable with differing opinions and viewpoints. I, personally, love all the different perspectives brought to the group by people from all over the world, and I feel honored to be such a prominent part of it. โค

Image

*Pictured are images from the Under The Roses Lenormand.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2013 in Lenormand

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “You can please some people some of the time…

  1. Martyn Williams

    February 23, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Well I love you and the group so try not to take on board what the complainers say ๐Ÿ˜‰ xxx

     
    • Bobbie Jo Drake

      February 23, 2013 at 7:11 pm

      lol Much love to you too, Martyn! It’s all good. Lessons in diplomacy are always a good thing. ๐Ÿ™‚ xxxx

       
  2. Martyn Williams

    February 23, 2013 at 7:18 pm

    Oh they are! There will always be clashes between readers of Lenormand or any form of divination. There will always be strong opinionated people in groups no matter what. People should see it for what it’s all about and not really what other people post. As you say, skip the posts of no interest. That’s what I do. I visit a hell of a lot and suffice to say, I’ve learned so much in the past 12 months from other readers and posts too xxx

     
  3. Shaheen Miro

    February 23, 2013 at 10:02 pm

    I think you do a wonderful job, and I am proud to be a part of the group! I think people need to focus their attention on what feeds them. I don’t always participate in the learning post, but I usually read through them to see how people are working… I have an entire folder full of screen shots of different peoples post and comments… because I find everyone has an intriguing perspective on one thing or another.
    I am not a traditionalist when it comes to Lenormand because I really cannot turn off the intuitive side of my brain in order to do that… but I love the tradition and I use it as much as I can. And to those that are traditionalist, I applaud their dedication and commitment. Lenormand is really a beautiful and fascinating thing. I never knew how much it would become a part of my life. The group is a place I visit every single day… thank you for creating that space ๐Ÿ™‚
    Shaheen

     
    • Bobbie Jo Drake

      February 24, 2013 at 6:37 pm

      Hi, Shaheen! Thanks for commenting. I agree with you about people needing to focus their attention on what feeds them. Common sense and courtesy go a long way on the internet, imo. ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  4. Jim Maher

    March 4, 2013 at 11:44 am

    I knew nothing of you writing this B.J. LOL, found it while looking through some comments & followed one of them ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  5. moderndayruth

    May 9, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    Jim, you missed all the drama… lol! Bobbie, here it is for the record: YOU ARE AN ANGEL! If you ever decide to run for the office (fingers crossed), hereby i am volunteering to run your campaign! If seriously, i’d really LOVE to see more and more tolerant and democratic people like yourself in positions of power…

     
  6. ispeakoracle

    October 16, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    Hi Bobbie! thanks for following my blog. I’m one of those free form intuitive readers and was involved in a forum where my free form reading was rejected pretty badly LOL. For them, I was always doing it “wrong” so for a long time I did it their way because I was afraid of rejection or someone disagreeing with me. But eventually I summed up the courage to shout out ” Yea I read the lenormand however I want so what!!??) ha! Now I feel MUCH more comfortable. Very interesting blog!

     
    • Bobbie Jo Drake

      October 17, 2013 at 2:11 pm

      Hi, thanks for following back! I think there IS a lot of intuitive reading involved with Lenormand. More than what those “traditional” readers want to admit! lol Always listen to that little voice inside you, I say. ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  7. Naomi

    May 7, 2014 at 12:19 am

    Hi Bobbie, thanks for following my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Ah something that I can relate to… but can never imagine having 800 plus members! Keep up the great work.

     
    • Bobbie Jo Drake

      May 8, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      Hi, Naomi! Thanks for following back. The group is doing great at over 3000 members now! The occasional old fight still breaks out from time to time, but we all get through it pretty quickly now. lol ๐Ÿ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
wild*crafty

food, medicine, land

Whispering Earth

Nature patiently waits and we have only to turn back to her to find relief from our suffering - Dr Bach

The Promised Land Dachshund Sanctuary

We rescue senior and special needs Dachshunds

Art of Cartomancy

Fortune Telling with Playing cards

ABC27

News, weather, traffic and sports for Harrisburg, Pa. Also York, Lancaster and Lebanon | WHTM-TV, ABC

Shaheen Miro

A Practical Guide to the Mystical Life

celestial tree

tarot, oracles, and other signs along the journey

Dat Dank

keeping your stash sticky since 2010

NรฉosFortune

I am the knowledge of my inquiry and the finding of those who seek after me โ€“ The Thunder, Perfect Mind

Witch And 3 Kids

Photographic blog of the life of a busy witchy mum with 3 kids .

AlyZen Moonshadow

The words and works of AlyZen Moonshadow, digital mixed media photography artist, designer, musician, poet, philosopher, mother, muse, Goddess!

J.R. Rivera's Reviews

Cartomancy Reviews.

Tarot Heritage

All about tarot history and historic decks

jema

: tarot : dreams :

Where's My Halo?

I am the bridge between religion and spirituality as there is no darkness in a lightworker's world

Mickie's Mind

What is on Mickie's mind today? Crafting such as wire wrap jewelry, beading, polymer clay sculpting, art journaling, or more? Food as in recipes, restaurant reviews or cost cutting? Entertainment such as movies, books, music or games? What will we discuss today?

Cute Puppy Love

All the Cute Stuff You Love to See Everyday!

